Tuesday, September 8, 2009

All Iowa Points Update As We Hit The Homestretch

As we head into IMCA Super Nationals week, if you look at the schedule on www.PositivelyRacing.com Boone Iowa truly is the focus of racing in the state of Iowa this week. But there are plenty of other opportunities for drivers to pick up some more All Iowa Points before the season comes to a close.

Ray Guss Jr. has been on quite a roll lately and has built up what may now be an insurmountable lead of 22 points over Terry Neal in the Late Model standings. Kevin Blum and Mark Burgtorf are tied for third while Andy Eckrich is the only non-spec motor racer in the top ten in fifth.

Jeremy Mills has the All Iowa Points Modified championship locked up as he heads into the Specials season with an eighty-one-point lead over Jay Noteboom. Max Corporan ranks third ahead of Scott Hogan and Adam Larson, while former two-time champion Mark Schulte is now sixth. Defending Modified “Shiverfest” champion Bruce Hanford is seventh while Ryan Dolan, Jason Cummins and Troy Cordes round out the top ten.

Dustin Smith is looking to pick up his second straight All Iowa Points Stock Car title and he has a solid 29-point edge over Mike Jergens right now. Kevin Opheim still has a shot in third, Abe Huls has climbed to fourth while Andrew Burk and Trent Murphy are currently tied for fifth. Damon Murty, former Hobby Stock champion Donavon, two-time Stock Car champion Brian Blessington and Greg Gill fill out the top ten.

Kevin Sather has a 23-point lead over Jesse Sobbing as Sather looks to earn his second straight All Iowa Point Limited Modified championship. Austin Kaplan and Scott Davis are still mathematically in the hunt in third and fourth while northwest Iowa driver Darrin Korthals has climbed to fifth. The rest of the top ten at this point are Adam Ackerman, Luke Wanninger, Brett Meyer, Matt Jones and Dan Tenold.

Shannon Anderson has locked up his second straight All Iowa Hobby Stock title as he holds a 79-point bulge over another of the racing Smith family from Lake City, Devin Smith. Chris Hovden and Dustin Larson are tied for third while Chad Gentz sits in fifth. Rusty Montagne is sixth, John Cain seventh, Nathan Wood ranks eighth, Brandon Hare is ninth and two drivers, Michael Murphy and Stac Schroeder, are tied for tenth.

Minnesota’s Nate Coopman continues to pace the All Iowa Points for the Four Cylinders with Jeremy Campbell in hot pursuit only twelve points back. Gary Peiffer remains in contention for the championship in third while Nathan and Brad Chandler go fourth and fifth respectively. The rest of the top ten includes Justin Wacha, Tim Doocy, Jay DeVries, Joe Bunkofske and Zach Ankrum.

Terry McCarl has won two All Iowa Points Sprint Car titles back in the 1990’s and he’ll make it number three this year as he has a 37-point lead over two-time defending champ Mark Dobmeier. In the 360’s Eagle Raceway champion Mike Boston holds a slim two-point advantage over two-time defending champ Jody Rosenboom and Bobby Mincer continues to lead the 305 standings with not many races left on the schedule for that division.

The September 8th update of the All Iowa Points will be up soon at www.PositivelyRacing.com.

No comments: